čes | eng | fra | deu

World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Confluence - Ronald Moelker, recorded - Niels Bijl, saxophone

Confluence - Ronald Moelker, recorded - Niels Bijl, saxophone-Saxophone-Baroque
ID: ACDBA091-2 (EAN: 8717775551102)  | 1 CD | DDD
Released in: 2016
Anonymous | BACH, Johann Sebastian | BALDWINE, John | COUPERIN, François | TELEMANN, Georg Philipp
BIJL, Niels (tenor saxophone) | MOELKER, Ronald (recorder)
Other info:

The year is 1996. Classically trained saxophonist Niels Bijl is at the end of his Conservatorium education. In a record shop in the centre of Enschede: in a spare hour he is trawling the cd racks, looking for unknown music, new inspiration. Ronald Moelker walks past him, purposefully, towards the counter. With a clear question: do you also have recordings of classical music on saxophone? A conversation quickly follows, a friendship is born.

What follows; more than 20 years of research, collaboration and a shared passion for enjoying life. Niels and Ronald, managing to remain unfettered by the apparently different worlds of their chosen instruments, take on all challenges together. The 15th Century British complexity of Baldwine’s A Duo, the light-footedness of Francois Couperin’s Tic-Toc-Choc. Bach as uniting thread, with highlights such as the two-part canon from the Kunst der Fugue and the flute sonata BWV 1035. Aided by the expert mastery of recorder builder Adriana Breukink, the saxophone and recorder come ever closer to each other. The romance of young love is reflected in Tandernaken. The festive cadans of the early middle ages are celebrated in the Estampie Petrone. In an unknown duo, referred to as No. 3, harsh dissonant sounds are continuously replaced with beautiful harmonies, ending in a perfect unison. Ronald Moelker’s composition Ithaca, written for Niels, is the perfect introduction to the heart of the collaboration and friendship: Two fantasies by Telemann.
BACH, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750) 
1. Grave BWV 1003 from Sonata No. 24:11 
2. Canon BWV 1080.14 from Die Kunst der Fuge6:54 
BALDWINE, John (before 1560-1615) 
3. A Duo from the Baldwine Manuscript3:42 
4. Estampie Petrone from the Robertsbridge Codex6:45 
5. Tandernaken after Erasmus Lapicida4:31 
6. Ithaca after the poem by Konstantinos Kavafis5:01 
TELEMANN, Georg Philipp (1681-1767) 
Fantasia VI. 
7. Dolce3:25 
8. Allegro1:16 
9. Spirituoso1:15 
Fantasia IX. 
10. Affettuoso3:05 
11. Allegro1:33 
12. Grave0:25 
13. Vivace1:53 
14. No. 32:55 
BACH, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750) 
Sonata BWV 1035 
15. Adagio ma non tanto2:26 
16. Allegro3:51 
17. Siciliano3:37 
18. Allegro assai3:51 
COUPERIN, François (1668-1733) 
19. Le Tic-Toc-Choc, ou Les Maillotins3:29 


18.00 eur Buy

Customer: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Titles
  • Composers
  • Interprets 
  • Ensembles
  • Conductors
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Labels
  • Collections
  • Numerical listing
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

Europe RCD - World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.