čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


D. SHOSTAKOVICH - All Symphonies - Symphonies Nos. 1-15 (complete)

D. SHOSTAKOVICH - All Symphonies - Symphonies Nos. 1-15 (complete)-Voices and Orchestra-Symphony
ID: MELCD1002431 (EAN: 4600317124312)  | 10 CD | ADD
Publi: 2016
Voices and Orchestra
SHOSTAKOVICH, Dmitry Dmitriyevich
EISEN, Artur (bass) | RESHETIN, Mark (bass) | VISHNEVSKAYA, Galina (soprano)
Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra | Moscow Chamber Orchestra | Moscow Philarmonic Orchestra | Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra | USSR Ministry of Culture Symphony Orchestra | USSR State Symphony Orchestra
Chef d'orchestre:
Pour plus amples dtails:

Dmitri Shostakovich’s creations constitute a musical chronicle of the epoch. What we hear in his music is something that continues to alarm minds and souls of millions of people. His fifteen symphonies captured not only the great musician’s evolution - as if the entire 20th century with its great discoveries and perturbations, unprecedented progress and terrifying catastrophes breathes in their scores. These are unique documents of human spirit that will stay with us for good to tell us about their time, to stir heated theoretical and aesthetic disputes, to give us a reason for very different interpretations, and to command our admiration or sharp rejection. Whatever the case may be, they will never find an indifferent listener.
Firma Melodiya is preparing a number of large-scale projects for the Shostakovich anniversary year. We present the first of them - a set of the composer’s symphonies performed by the greatest masters of the Soviet conducting school and brightest interpreters of Shostakovich’s music - Evgeny Mravinsky, Kirill Kondrashin, Evgeny Svetlanov and Gennady Rozhdestvensky. The set also includes recordings made by Konstantin Ivanov, a predecessor of Evgeny Svetlanov as chief conductor of the country’s principal orchestra - the USSR State Academic Symphony Orchestra; Yuri Temirkanov, a successor of Evgeny Mravinsky, a great representative of the St. Petersburg conducting school; Rudolf Barshai, a founder of the first Soviet chamber orchestra and the one who inspired Shostakovich’s Fourteenth Symphony; and Maxim Shostakovich, the composer’s son who presented the world premiere of the last, Fifteenth Symphony.
The live and studio recordings of Shostakovich’s symphonies were made by Firma Melodiya from 1961 to 1984. The studio recording is peculiar for the fact it was realized shortly after the world premiere in the presence and under supervision of the composer. An unconfirmed legend among the former members of the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra has it that the recording was to be erased together with the other ones after Maxim Shostakovich defected from the Soviet Union. However, it survived among the Melodiya phonograms.
The edition comprises a lidded hard box made from lined cardboard, 9 digipacks and a thick hardcover booklet in English and Russian.

CD 1 - Symphonies Nos. 1-3
CD 2 - Symphony No. 4
CD 3 - Symphonies Nos. 5 - 6
CD 4 - Symphony No. 7
CD 5 - Symphony No. 8
CD 6 - Symphonies Nos. 9 - 10
CD 7, CD 8 - Symphonies Nos. 11 - 13
CD 9 - Symphony No. 14
CD 10 - Symphony No. 15

CD 1
SHOSTAKOVICH, Dmitry Dmitriyevich (1906-1975) 
Symphony No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 10 
1. I. Allegretto - Allegro non troppo8:39 
2. II. Allegro4:30 
3. III. Lento10:23 
4. IV. Allegro molto9:54 
5. Symphony No. 2 in B Major, Op. 14 "To October"16:49 
6. Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 20 "The First of May"26:19 

CD 2
Symphony No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 43 
1. I. Allegretto poco moderato25:42 
2. II. Moderato con moto8:21 
3. III. Largo25:57 

CD 3
Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47 
1. I. Moderato16:33 
2. II. Allegretto5:15 
3. III. Largo14:49 
4. IV. Allegro non troppo10:19 
Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, Op. 54 
5. I. Largo16:00 
6. II. Allegro5:32 
7. III. Presto6:53 

CD 4
Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60 "Leningrad" 
1. I. Allegretto25:54 
2. II. Moderato poco allegretto10:10 
3. III. Adagio19:51 
4. IV. Allegro non troppo19:09 

CD 5
Symphony No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 65 
1. I. Adagio - Allegro non troppo24:36 
2. II. Allegretto6:10 
3. III. Allegro non troppo6:18 
4. IV. Largo9:50 
5. V. Allegretto12:27 

CD 6
Symphony No. 9 in E-Flat Major, Op. 70 
1. I. Allegro5:16 
2. II. Moderato7:38 
3. III. Presto3:00 
4. IV. Largo4:05 
5. V. Allegretto6:43 
Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93 
6. I. Moderato22:52 
7. II. Allegro3:52 
8. III. Allegretto12:25 
9. IV. Andante - Allegro13:04 

CD 7
Symphony No. 11 in G Minor, Op. 103 "The Year 1905" 
1. I. The Palace Square11:11 
2. II. The 9th of January14:34 
3. III. Eternal Memory9:19 
4. IV. Tocsin12:26 

CD 8
Symphony No. 12 in D Minor, Op. 112 "The Year of 1917" 
1. I. Revolutionary Petrograd12:50 
2. II. Razliv10:34 
3. III. Aurora3:39 
4. IV. The Dawn of Humanity9:42 
Symphony No. 13 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 113 "Babi Yar" 
5. I. Babi Yar13:40 
6. II. Humour8:07 
7. III. In the Store10:48 
8. IV. Fears9:48 
9. V. Career11:37 

CD 9
Symphony No. 14, Op. 135 
1. I. De profundis4:24 
2. II. Malague?a2:16 
3. III. Loreley7:39 
4. IV. Le Suicidé6:32 
5. V. Les Attentives I2:45 
6. VI. Les Attentives II1:47 
7. VII. A la Santé8:41 
8. VIII. Réponse des Cosaques Zaporogues au Sultan de Constantinople1:50 
9. IX. O, Del'vig, Del'vig!4:08 
10. X. Der Tod des Dichters4:41 
11. XI. Schlußstück1:36 

CD 10
Symphony No. 15 in A Major, Op. 141 
1. I. Allegretto7:58 
2. II. Adagio15:49 
3. III. Allegretto4:02 
4. IV. Adagio - Allegretto14:30 


150.00 eur Temporarily out of stock

Client: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Les titres
  • Les compositeurs
  • Les interpretes 
  • Orchestre
  • Chef d'orchestre
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Marques
  • Les collections
  • Indice
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.