čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Rachmaninov plays and conducts, Vol. 4 - Chopin

Rachmaninov plays and conducts, Vol. 4 -  Chopin -Piano-Enregistrement historique
ID: VVCD-00026 (EAN: 4603141000265)  | 1 CD | ADD
Publi: 1999
Enregistrement historique
CHOPIN, Frédéric François
RACHMANINOV, Sergey Vasil'yevich (piano)
Pour plus amples dtails:

Recorded 1919-35

That's how we were taught to play in Russia: Rubinstein used to give his historic recitals in Petersburg and Moscow. He used to appear on the stage and say:Every note from Chopin is pure gold. Listen!" And he played and we listened. S.Rachmaninov (from A.J. and E. Swan Memoirs) Throughout his Chopin recordings one feels Rachmaninov's articulation and rhythm as indissoluble components of his true greatness in the repertoire. Indeed colouristically and textually he is fascinating - try the A minor Mazurka - even when he is at his most capricious and the locus classicus of that is his 1930 recording of the B flat minor Sonata. Here he extends the finale in a way not sanctioned - shall we say - by Chopin but the result is one of uplifting power, with Rachmaninov sculpting waves of impetus and not an undifferentiated mf all the way through. For all its recasting his performance of the sonata embraces all its moods, all its power and all its romance. Jonathan Woolf
CHOPIN, Frédéric François (1810-1849) 
1. Ballade No.3 Op 47 in A flat major7:23 
2. Scherzo No.3 Op.39 in C sharp minor6:58 
3. Nocturne No.9 No.3 in E flat major4:46 
4. Mazurka Op 68 No.2 in A minor2:47 
5. Nocturne No.15 No.2 in F sharp minor3:42 
6. Waltz Op.18 in E flat major4:38 
7. Waltz Op.34 No.3 in F major2:49 
8. Waltz Op.42 in A flat major3:57 
9. Mazurka Op.68 No.2 in A minor2:47 
10. Waltz Op. 64 No.1 in D flat major2:02 
11. Waltz Op.64 No. 2 in C sharp minor3:39 
12. Waltz Op.64 No. 3 in A flat minor2:47 
13. Waltz Op.70 No.1 in G flat major1:56 
14. Waltz Op. posth. In E minor1:46 
15. Waltz Op.69 No.2 in B minor3:06 
Sonata No.2 in B flat minor Op.35 
16. Grave: Doppio movimento5:57 
17. Scherzo5:20 
18. Marche funebre6:12 
19. Presto1:28 


13.00 eur Temporarily out of stock

Client: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Les titres
  • Les compositeurs
  • Les interpretes 
  • Orchestre
  • Chef d'orchestre
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Marques
  • Les collections
  • Indice
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.