čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Vivald: Gloria in D major / Bach: Magnificat in D major - The Sixteen - H. Christophers

Vivald: Gloria in D major / Bach: Magnificat in D major - The Sixteen - H. Christophers -Baroque
ID: COR16042 (EAN: 828021604225)  | 1 CD | DDD
Vydano: 2006
BACH, Johann Sebastian | VIVALDI, Antonio
FISHER, Gillian (soprano) | GEORGE, Michael (bass) | PARTRIDGE, Ian (tenor) | RUSSELL, Lynda (soprano)
The Sixteen | The Symphony of Harmony and Invention
Dal informace:

About this title: The small British chorus called the Sixteen and director Harry Christophers have delivered consistently popular recordings of Renaissance and Baroque music, maintaining very high standards of performance. Here they couple two of the most popular Baroque works of all, Vivaldi's Gloria in D major, RV 589, and Bach's Magnificat in D major, BWV 243, and the results are handsome indeed. The tenor of the performances flows from the conceptions of each work that Christophers expresses in one of the little personal essays that appears at the beginning of each booklet in this series: Vivaldi, he said, is "effective," and even operates in places here "at his simplest," while Bach is "complex." Some would use other words first, for each composer -- daring or kinetic for Vivaldi, devotional or a dozen other words for Bach. There are recordings that give Vivaldi in general and the Gloria in particular more of an edge; there are recordings of Bach that seem warmer, or more rooted in the sacred texts.
VIVALDI, Antonio (1678-1741) 
Gloria in D major (RV 589) 
1. Chorus: Gloria in excelsis Deo2:28 
2. Chorus: Et in terra pax hominibus4:53 
3. Soprano I & II: Laudamus te2:12 
4. Chorus: Gratias agimus tibi0:27 
5. Chorus: Propter magnam gloriam0:54 
6. Soprano I: Domine Deus3:31 
7. Chorus: Domine Fili Unigenite2:11 
8. Alto & Chorus: Domine Deus, Agnus Dei4:09 
9. Chorus: Qui tollis peccata mundi1:04 
10. Alto: Qui Sedes ad dexteram Patris2:06 
11. Chorus: Quoniam tu solus Sanctus0:45 
12. Chorus: Cum Sancto Spiritu2:54 
BACH, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750) 
Magnificat in D major (BWV 243) 
13. Chorus: Magnificat anima mea2:52 
14. Soprano II: Et exultavit2:24 
15. Soprano I: Quia respexit2:12 
16. Chorus: Omnes generationes1:13 
17. Bass: Quia fecit mihi magna2:12 
18. Alto & Tenor: Et misericordia3:37 
19. Chorus: Fecit potentiam1:51 
20. Tenor: Deposuit potentes2:00 
21. Alto: Esurientes2:56 
22. Chorus: Suscepit Isreal2:09 
23. Chorus: Sicut locutus est1:32 
24. Chorus: Gloria2:22 


After twenty-seven years of worldwide performance, The Sixteen is recognized as one of the world's greatest vocal ensembles, with a special reputation for clarity and beauty with precision and dramatic intensity. "The music is superb, and it's given a superb performance here." -Gramophone


13.00 eur Buy

Zákazník: neřihlášen

Thematic search:
  • Tituly
  • Skladatelé
  • Interpreti 
  • Soubory
  • Dirigenti
  • Nástroje
  • Žánr
  • Labelů
  • Kolekce
  • Abecední výpis
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.