čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco - Shakespeare Sonnets - Ashley Riches - Emma Abbate

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco - Shakespeare Sonnets - Ashley Riches - Emma Abbate-Voice, Piano and Orchestra -Vocal Collection
ID: RES10141 (EAN: 5060262790458)  | 1 CD | DDD
Released in: 2014
Resonus Classics
Vocal Collection
Voice, Piano and Orchestra
TEDESCO, Mario Castelnuovo
ABBATE, Emma (piano) | RICHES, Ashley (baritone)
Royal Opera House Orchestra
Other info:

Ashley Riches (baritone) & Emma Abbate (piano)
Former Royal Opera House Jette Parker Young Artist baritone Ashley Riches, and rising star pianist Emma Abbate, perform a ravishing selection of previously unrecorded Shakespeare Sonnets by Italian composer Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco.

Composed after his migration to the USA in 1939, these songs contain all the wistful atmsophere of, and his obvious warmth for, his native Florence as well as his life-long obsession with William Shakespeare. Making his solo album debut with this album, Ashley Riches, along with the superbly eloquent pianist Emma Abbate, wonderfully capture the mood of each of Shakespeare's masterpieces in miniature.
TEDESCO, Mario Castelnuovo (1895-1965) 
1. Sonnet VIII: Music to hear, why hear'st thou music sadly?2:18 
2. Sonnet XXX: When to the sessions if sweet silent thought2:33 
3. Sonnet XCVII: How like a winter hath my absence been from thee2:53 
4. Sonnet CV: Let not my love be called idolatry2:33 
5. Sonnet LXXIII: That time of year thou may'st in me behold1:40 
6. Sonnet CIX: O never say that I was false of heart2:23 
7. Sonnet XVIII: Shall I compare thee to a summer's day2:13 
8. Sonnet CXLVI: Poor soul, the centre of my sinful earth2:59 
9. Sonnet XXVII: Weary with toil, I haste me to my bed2:49 
10. Sonnet CVI: When in the chronicle of wasted time2:11 
11. Sonnet XC: Then hate me when thou wilt; if ever, now1:52 
12. Sonnet CII: My love is strengthen'd, thou more weak in seeming2:08 
13. Sonnet XXXII: If thou survive my well-contented day2:38 
14. Sonnet LIII: What is your substance, whereof you are made2:22 
15. Sonnet XXXV: No more be grieved at that which thou hast done2:11 
16. Sonnet LX: Like as the waves make towards the pebbled shore1:49 
17. Sonnet CXXVIII: How oft, when thou, my music, music play'st2:39 
18. Sonnet LVII: Being your slave2:41 
19. Sonnet XXIX: When in disgrace with fortune and men's eyes2:11 
20. Sonnet LXIV: When I have seen by time's fell hand defaced2:37 
21. Sonnet LXV: Since brass, nor stone, nor death, nor boundless sea2:32 
22. Sonnet LXXXVII: Farewell! Thou art too dear for my possessing2:39 
23. Sonnet CIV: To me, fair friend, you never can be old2:23 


'[...] this fine collection of Shakespeare Sonnets is doubly welcome [...] Baritone Ashley Riches is an ideal interpreter of this music, with a richness of timbre and a clarity of enunciation that is absolutely essential. He is sensitively accompanied by Emma Abbate.'
International Record Review


15.00 eur Buy

Customer: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Titles
  • Composers
  • Interprets 
  • Ensembles
  • Conductors
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Labels
  • Collections
  • Numerical listing
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2017

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.