čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


S. RACHMANINOV - Liturgy of St.John Chrysostom, Op.31 - The "Rozhdestvo" Choir of Solo Singers Olga Stupneva

S. RACHMANINOV - Liturgy of St.John Chrysostom, Op.31 - The "Rozhdestvo" Choir of Solo Singers Olga Stupneva-Choir-Choral Collection
ID: IMLCD036 (EAN: 4607053330366)  | 1 CD | DDD
Released in: 2002
Choral Collection
RACHMANINOV, Sergey Vasil'yevich
The ‘Rozhdestvo’ Choir of Solo Singers of St.Petersburg Philharmonic Society
Other info:

The “Rozhdestvo” Choir of Soloists, numbering twelve fine singers, offers a distinctly “chamber” rendition of Rachmaninoff’s Liturgy of St John Chrysostom. In some passages this means the choir sings one voice on a part. As a result, the textures and individual lines of Rachmaninoff’s choral score emerge with an extra clarity (despite a somewhat muffled recording technique) that is sometimes lacking in recordings by larger choirs. The ensemble achieves an impressive range of dynamic shadings, but unfortunately, their intonation proves to be fragile at times. The booklet (in Russian and English) contains very interesting period reviews and critical perspectives of Rachmaninoff’s first attempt to write a major sacred work-these alone are worth the price of the CD! There are no text translations given, however. This disc is available in limited quantities and will likely not be available in the future. Don’t miss this opportunity to own another recording and gain another perspective of Rachmaninoff’s early masterpiece.
RACHMANINOV, Sergey Vasil'yevich (1873-1943) 
1. Bells0:47 
2. Great Litany5:21 
3. Bless the Lord3:22 
4. Only begotten Son2:18 
5. In Thy Kingdom4:33 
6. Come, let us worship1:27 
7. Holy God2:51 
8. Cherubic Hymn4:34 
9. Creed4:53 
10. Mercy of Peace4:32 
11. We Hymn Thee2:16 
12. It is truly fitting2:06 
13. Our Father3:59 
14. Praise the Lord2:15 
15. Blessed is He..We have seen the True Light1:20 
16. 16. Let Our Mouths be filled 3:31 
17. Blessed be the Name1:43 
18. Bells0:56 


13.00 eur Buy

Customer: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Titles
  • Composers
  • Interprets 
  • Ensembles
  • Conductors
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Labels
  • Collections
  • Numerical listing
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2017

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.